Skip to content ↓

Cirencester Deer Park School

Cirencester Deer Park School

Child Development

Child Development is an exciting Level 1/2 Cambridge National course (equivalent to a GCSE) that includes a study of a child. This course enables learners to understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of Child Development, to include health and well-being, creating a safe environment, the nutritional needs of children from birth to five years, and the development of children from birth to five years. 

As a Cambridge National course, the assessment consists of two pieces of coursework (each worth 25% of the course) and one exam (worth 50%). 

The grading for the course follows the Cambridge National:

GCSE Cambridge National
8 Level 2 Distinction*
7 Level 2 Distinction
6 Level 2 Merit
4 Level 2 Pass
3 Level 1 Pass
2 Level 1 Merit
1 Level 1 Pass

Due to changes nationally, our current Year 11 (as at January 2023) are following the legacy course and current Year 10s are following the current course (see below), which is the course that will be offered in future Key Stage 4 options.